What are the 10 commandments?

Spread the love

What are the 10 commandments?:

In all religions, there are what we understand as rules of behavior that are part of the daily life of the faithful. This is the case with the 10 commandments, a code of laws based on the Old and New Testaments that are part of the moral fabric of Christianity.

Surely most readers know, either by religion or by general culture, these commandments so important to Christians. However, it is essential not only to know what these commandments are but also what they symbolize and how important they are in the daily life of believers. Next, from HOWORWHAT, we invite you to know what the 10 commandments are and what they mean.

What are the 10 commandments of God?

The 10 commandments of the Catholic Church, also called the “Decalogue” or “The 10 commandments of God,” refer to a guide to behavior that, according to believers, God revealed to Moses on Mount Sinai. The Catholic Church recognizes these laws as a series of guidelines that mark the good conduct of all Christians so that disobeying them implies moving away from the good path that has been entrusted to them.

It should be noted that among the faithful themselves there is some reluctance to say “commandments” since they consider that God does not force them to do anything, but rather gives advice to Christians on how to lead a good life. Likewise, the 10 commandments should not be confused with the five commandments of the Catholic Church, by which it is dictated:

  • Go to Mass on Sundays
  • Confession of sins
  • Commune
  • Refrain from eating meat on the days indicated by the Church
  • Help the Church in its needs

The ten commandments are divided into those referring to love towards God (which are the first three) and love towards one’s neighbor (which are the remaining seven). Each commandment alludes to concrete practices of daily life that the Christian must abide by and that we detail below.

What are the 10 commandments and their meaning?

What are the 10 commandments
What are the 10 commandments

Following the order of the Decalogue of the Catholic Church, the 10 commandments are the following:

You will love God above all things

This commandment is based on the belief that there is only one God, creator, and almighty. Monotheistic religions such as Christianity recognize and venerate this figure as a Divinity that cannot be compared to anything or anyone and, therefore, is the only God to be worshiped.

You will not take God’s name in vain

The believer must never use God’s name to curse, blaspheme, or swear. Sometimes his name is used in foul phrases, which is considered by Christianity a huge lack of respect for the Creator. Furthermore, this commandment appeals that all actions of Christians in the name of God should contribute to glorifying his name.

You will sanctify the holidays

This point is very important for the daily practice of Christians since it refers to breaks on the days designated for it. According to the Decalogue, believers will work six days and on the seventh, they will rest and honor God. This also involves attending mass on Sundays.

You will honor your father and mother

One of the most relevant commandments of God today, as it refers to the daily practice of believers in their family and personal relationships. Parents are the base of the pyramid of the life of a Christian, as they are the first to educate them with love to follow the good path of God, which is why they deserve all the respect and love.

You will not kill

Murder goes against the precepts of good behavior that God has dictated, so this act, as well as other acts of violence, is considered a sin. It should be remembered that for Christians, life is God’s most precious gift to mortals, so it is not in our hands to take it from anyone.

Thou shalt not commit impure acts

This commandment appeals to the sexual acts of people outside of marriage and disloyalty towards the spouse. In the Catholic religion, there are morally unacceptable behaviors related to sexuality, and this commandment is a clear example of this.

You will not steal

In Christianity, theft is harshly condemned, since it is based on the idea that the faithful who commit theft are not treating their brothers fairly. The same happens with the word since Christians consider that promising something and not keeping it is inadmissible in the eyes of God.

No lies

No lies
www.HowOrWhat.com Images

The eighth commandment refers to the fact that we must be honest and not lie or bear false witness to benefit our self-interest and/or harm others. Believers reject any kind of lie and try to live an honest and sincere life with themselves and with others.

You will not tolerate impure thoughts and desires

This commandment refers to the fact that the believer must not have negative thoughts and/or wishes against himself or other people since even in private he must follow the right path. The ninth commandment refers especially to those thoughts related to sexuality and adultery, since as Matthew says in verses 5:28: “He who looks at a woman lustfully has already committed adultery with her in his heart.”

You shall not covet

The tenth commandment has a close relationship with greed and envy since it does not refer to wanting needs but to envy the possessions of others. We must not succumb to this evil, as it has dire consequences such as unhappiness, hatred, and pride.

The story of the 10 commandments

The history of the 10 commandments goes back to the origins of the ancient people of Israel when they fled the slavery to which they were condemned in Egypt.

According to the Bible, after a long journey of three months of the Hebrew people through Egypt, they reached the foot of Mount Sinai to take refuge. Moses, a prophet to whom God had revealed his word and who accompanied the Hebrew people, decided to climb to the top of the mountain to speak with the Creator. Once there, the prophet received the Tablets of the Law, commands addressed to the Hebrew people that were set on two stones on the mountain. These commandments were known as the Mosaic Law and their main function was to guide the Israelites on the right path and prepare them for the arrival of the messiah.

Subsequently, and as we have already seen, in the Catholic religion these texts have had great importance since these instructions are an essential guide for good Christian behavior today.

Read Also: How to calculate the productivity of a company?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *